an Idaho-bound shawl

I’m joining up with Ginny on her “yarn along“. I love to knit and love to read – but since I haven’t figured out how to do both at the same time – I also love Audible. I’ve been re-reading A Time to Dance by Karen Kingsbury.

It’s been a couple weeks since I’ve linked up. I haven’t been knitting as much as usual because I’m helping my sister with a quilt project. But when I do take time to knit I’ve mainly been working on a shawl that I’m knitting at the request of a friend. They live up in Idaho, so she wants it snuggly warm. I’m knitting the Sunny Days Ahead shawl from the Knit Prayer Shawls book by Leisure Arts.

I’m using Caron Simply Soft in a nice warm brown, I want this to be an easy care shawl. I have made a couple modifications to the pattern. The original pattern has a “three” petal flower at the top, and I changed it to a “five” petal flower. I wanted is to be more than a half circle, it’s probably a little more that a 3/4 circle. I also added a 5 stitch garter border to each side, I don’t have much luck in getting a smooth border when I have to knit it on after the fact.

It is about 15″ deep now and she is wanting it to be around 28-30″ deep, so I have some knitting to do!

Have a great week ~ So what are you knitting / crocheting / spinning / reading / listening to?

Check out some others at the ~  Yarn Along & WIP Wednesday with tami’s amis

3 thoughts on “an Idaho-bound shawl

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

