a visit to Grandma’s house

A couple weekends ago, I went to visit my Grandma Crain. She is 99 years old and needs someone around 24/7. An aunt and uncle stay with her, but some other family members having been visiting on the weekends to give them a break.  So this post will be a little this and that from my visit.

~ she lives on Candy Cane Lane ~ as a child I loved the name of this street

~ here’s just a sampling of some of the flowers in her gardens

~ I love her oak leaf hydrangea, my uncle helped my dig up some little ones to bring them home.

~ here’s a picture of the front of her house

~ a poem framed and hanging on the living room wall, written by my brother when he was a teenager

~ a small cross-stitch piece I made for Grandpa & Grandma when I was a teenager

~ a couple pieces that Grandpa & Grandma used to make, all from berries and pods and pine cones, etc

~ blue bottles in the laundry room window ~ i love blue bottles…

~ Grandma’s potting shed

~ and the little frog that visited while I potted some plants

~ it’s almost hidden in the greenry, but this is a picture of an olive tree my Grandma transplanted back in the early 80’s from my great-grandmother’s home. She has kept it in the same pot, so now it’s bonsai. I asked her if I could have it when she’s tired of messing with it. And she said yes!

~ I wandered her gardens and created a flower arrangement for her, it’s really fun to be able to have the variety to pick from.

~ The vegetable garden, I think my uncle is working it this year, Grandma’s not able to get around much anymore.

~ Thanks for visiting my Grandma’s house with me…

One thought on “a visit to Grandma’s house

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

