fall fibery goodness

I have a cousin who knits and likes home-spun, so I asked her what colors she would like ~ and she said fall colors. So I’ve been on the lookout for some fall colored fibery goodness that wasn’t too expensive. Well, last week I was prowling around etsy.com and came across this lovely bunch of fiber.

8 oz of soft merino, I got it from Designs by Velvet’s shop. It came in two 4 oz bundles. I split the first one down and did a little pre-drafting and all I have left to do of it is these two little buns of fiber.

It is spinning up real smoothly and quickly, the fiber preparation is nice. Once I’m done with this 4 oz, I’ll swap out my bobbin and spin up the second.

It’s turning out a little more “woodland” than “fall”, but I think she will like it. Here’s a sampling of what I working toward, a little bit thick thin in the light worsted to worsted range.

I hope everyone has a great weekend ~ I’m off to the ocean tonight for the weekend ~ I am sooooo looking forward to it.

sharing with In the Studio-Sneek Peek FridayCreative FridayFiber Arts FridayFibers on Friday,  F O FridayFriday Fiber Arts, Show Your Stuff

15 thoughts on “fall fibery goodness

    • I knit first and still do everyday, but I’m so glad I got a wheel because I love spinning also. I started off with a drop spindle and still use it also, it make spinning a little more portable. Thanks for visiting, come again…

  1. What beautiful yarn you have spun! I have spinning on my long list of things to learn. These colors are begging to be knit into something wonderful. I love my knitting adventures in addition to my painting and drawing. Visiting from studio sneak peek at studio JRU.

  2. beautiful! I am now working on trying to figure out spinning. I have some knitting books coming and spinning books wont be far behind. Great Job!

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

