budding romance

I’m joining up with Ginny on her “yarn along“. I love to knit and love to read – but since I haven’t figured out how to do both at the same time – I also love Audible. I’ve been listening to Swan Song by Robert McCammon and am reading Deadly Game by Christine Feehan which is book 5 of a series I’m borrowing from my sister.

I had another big wedding for flowers this last weekend, so again the fiber fun has just been snuck in here and there. A couple weeks ago, I finally pulled this yarn off the spindle and got it plyed. It had been hanging out on the spindle for a long time, I think it was glad to be free.

~ chasing rainbow dyeworks ~ color: juniper berry ~ 2 oz ~ 50% wool/50% tencel ~ 320 yards ~

I did some looking around Ravelry to find a project that would work for the beautiful little 320 yd skein. I looked through Susanna IC’s patterns (I love her designs) and found Romance and it only calls for 300 yds.  It does ask for dk to worsted weight and my yarn is more of a fingering weight, but I think I can make it work. I’l just make the crescent short row section not quite so deep.

I’m not sure if I’ve got the right needle size, I think I’ll do a few more rows and see what it looks/feels like. The color is really pooling on these first couple rows, I’ll have to see how I like that also.

And a little Instagram love to pull it all together…

“Properly practiced, knitting soothes the troubled spirit, and it doesn’t hurt the untroubled spirit, either.” ~Elizabeth Zimmerman

I hope you all have a good week, see you next week…

So what are you knitting / crocheting / spinning / reading / listening to?

Check out some others at the ~  Yarn Along & WIP Wednesday with tami’s amis

13 thoughts on “budding romance

  1. Ooh, that’s lovely! It always makes me happy to watch handspun yarn grow up into some pretty knitted something. Thanks for the link to the pattern, too — I hadn’t seen that one before and it’s perfect!

  2. beautiful! it is hard to read and knit/spin at the same time. haven’t quite gravitated to audio books (used to when driving long distances). i love turning the pages too much.

  3. Beautiful colorway. Looks so nice and soft. I’m not sure I could listen to a book on tape and knit at the same time. Though I watch tv….quess it would be the same, except that it seems like you would have to concentrate more on just hearing it, vs seeing pictures?

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

