5 minute friday ~ expectation

Around here we write for five minutes flat on Fridays.

We write because we love words and the relief it is to just write them without worrying if they’re just right or not. So we take five minutes on Friday and write like we used to run when we were kids.

On Fridays we write with gusto, unselfconscious and flat out.

What can you write in five minutes flat? 

start:

~ Expectation ~

Expectations can be dangerous. People, situations, plans very seldom work out according to our “expectations”. If we aren’t careful, we can unfairly hold people accountable to our expectations, and be disappointed and discouraged. Because life isn’t turning out the way we expected.

My mother always told me, that I needed to keep forgiveness flowing because my expectations would not always be met. And that I needed to be willing to forgive and not hold a grudge against the person or people or situation.

For example, you think of the “starry-eyed” young woman as she plans her wedding and thinks of her married life to come. The couple could easily be crushed by her expectations and their failure to be able to live up to them.

But I am thankful there is one who has never failed me – as long as I keep my hope and expectation on God, I won’t be disappointed. I’m thankful I can trust Him, through every situation of life.

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end. Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you. And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart. Jer 29:11-13

stop:

2 thoughts on “5 minute friday ~ expectation

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

