a footstool transformation

I told a friend, who is a garage sale expert, that I was looking for a foot-stool. And a week or so later, he gave me this one (thanks, Uncle Bob).

Last night I got everything together to recover the foot stool. I planned to recover it with denim, that I had in my stash (don’t you just love stashes). I had some foam left over from a previous project. I borrowed a staple gun from my sister. I started the process at 7:45pm.

First, I took the wood base/legs off and found that one of the four screws was missing. And then I began to remove the staples, always my “favorite” part of any project.

54 staples later and the fabric and what was foam came off. The foam was so old it was disintegrating at the touch.

I used the original board base, and cut new foam to fit it. I used 2 layers of foam, I wanted it to be thicker.

And then I cut the denim, again I doubled the fabric, so it was a little sturdier. I layered the denim, the foam, and then the wood base. And began to stretch the fabric around the foam, stapling it to the base.

Then the extra fabric was trimmed away, and the leg base screwed back on (I still need to find another screw). And at 8:45pm, it was completed.

It’s plain, but I like it, and it is more comfortable under my feet now that the foam is replaced. Eventually I want to recover my rocking chair with denim fabric also. But that’s for another day…

sharing with Masterpiece Monday, Made By You MondayNifty Thrifty Tuesday,  In the Studio-Sneek Peek FridayCreative FridayFiber Arts FridayFibers on Friday,  F O FridayFriday Fiber Arts, Show Your Stuff

11 thoughts on “a footstool transformation

  1. i HAD THE EXACT SAME FOOTSTOOL. IT BELONGED TO MY MOM. I RECOVERED IT
    IN AN OFFWHITE MATERIAL AND IRONED ON A FRENCH GRAPHIC FROM GRAPHICS FAIRY. IT LOOKS SOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH BETTER.

  2. I love garage sale and thrift store finds to refurbish or repurpose! Yours looks great and now has new life! {Proof that our thrifting ways are near and dear to God’s heart ☺}

  3. So wonderful to see old things made fresh and useful again! I think your denim will hold up well – especially doubled! Nicely done – and in only an hour!

  4. Wow that is great, and an HOUR! I am impressed. I recovered our dining charis and just one seemed to take forever.

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

