violets or irises?

I’m joining up with Ginny on her “yarn along“. I love to knit and love to read – but since I haven’t figured out how to do both at the same time – I also love Audible. I’m still listening to Insurgent by Veronica Roth, the sequel to Divergent.

I did a quick spin last week  ~ I had 4 oz. of wool fiber that I got on Etsy from Olena’s shop.

photo from Old Sheep etsy shop – I didn’t take a picture before I started spinning.

I decided I wanted to do a thicker, fluffy yarn ~ I need to stretch out of my regular spinning rut.

I ended up with about 150 yards of very squishy, fluffy yarn.

I think of violets or irises when I see the colors  in this yarn. It’s very springy…

I’ve got a pretty big project on the loom right now, maybe next week I will be far enough along to show some progress.

So what are you knitting / crocheting / spinning / reading / listening to?

Check out some others at the ~  Yarn Along & WIP Wednesday with tami’s amis

11 thoughts on “violets or irises?

  1. I can’t get over how differnt it looks after the spinning. The aqua is sooooooo much more prevalent before hand, but I don’t see much of it after the spinning..seems the purple comes to forefront afterwards. Must be fun to see how it changes in the process first hand. Very cool.

  2. I have never spun..except when we had someone visit our school when I was in elementary school The yarn is so beautiful.I love Irises and violets. It reminds me of the painting by Vincent Van Gogh. Looking forward to seeing your loom and knitting projects

  3. I LOVE the yarn. I am a beginner spinner so I have a hard time imagining how the batt will come out as yarn. Yours came out GREAT. I will have to keep that in mind as I look for materials (I have to admit, the batt kind of makes me think of play dough, but the resulting yarn is so so beautiful).

  4. Pingback: If You’re Not Fond of Irises–Look at its Details and You’ll Change Your Mind « The Incredible Lightness of Seeing

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

