annis ~ a quick spin & knit

I’m joining up with Ginny on her “yarn along“. I love to knit and love to read – but since I haven’t figured out how to do both at the same time – I also love Audible. I am listening to Divergent by Veronica Roth and am really enjoying it.

This week’s project was a quick one – one week from fiber to yarn to shawlette.

Thursday evening, I started spinning a 4 oz. batt.

Friday evening I finished spinning the singles and then plyed it as a two ply.

Saturday, I pulled it off the bobbin onto my niddy-noddy, I ended up with about 325 yards.

Sunday, I carried it with me to find fabric to make a skirt, I had decided I wanted to make a shawl and matching skirt for Mother’s Day.

Sunday evening, I washed/soaked the skein and then hung it up outside to dry.

Monday, I wound it into a beautiful center-pull cake and began knitting another Annis. This time I didn’t do the nupps, I just knit it straight.

Tuesday, I continued to knit it, I also modified the short row section of the inside of the crescent, so that there were not as many rows. I wasn’t sure if I would have enough yarn.

Wednesday, I finished knitting the shawl with about 30 yards left.

Thursday, I soaked and blocked it.

Friday, I took pictures.

Last night, Monday ~ I sewed up the skirt I plan to wear with it.

I wish a Happy Day to all the Mothers out there, and to everyone else also!!

So what are you knitting / crocheting / spinning / reading / listening to?

Check out some others at the ~  Yarn Along & WIP Wednesday with tami’s amis

11 thoughts on “annis ~ a quick spin & knit

  1. Huh, i commented, then it lost it!
    Oh well- I just said how beautiful it was. And what a great achievement- from fibre to shawl in a week 🙂 Well done!

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

