wedding shawl

iao pink mist na'ni lo'a hawaiian island wedding dressI’ve been waiting to post about this finished project for a while because it was a gift, well last weekend it was gifted, so now I can share.

It all started with a friend’s Facebook post a couple months ago ~

Are you sitting down? I’ll wait until you take a seat…ready???? I’M ENGAGED TO BE MARRIED!! Scotty proposed to me over the weekend in Vegas!!!!!! I am the happiest woman in the world!! Bonus = Jori is very happy too!! I love you Scott and can’t wait to spend the rest of my life with you!!

And then just a couple days later ~

Just ordered my wedding dress!!! :):):):):)
I knew I had to knit her something and when I saw the dress she was going to wear, I knew it would be a shawl.
I had just bought this scrumptious red/pink/purple bamboo yarn a week or two before and knew it would be perfect. It was Blue Heron Bamboo Lace.
I began to knit ~ Abrazo by Susanna IC, I love her designs, I’ve made Annis a couple times and really like them. I did add 2 more repeats just to make it a little wider and deeper, since the depth comes from short rows for the inside of the crescent.
The yarn was wonderful to work with, and knowing my friend, I had to add beads. She has such a sparkly, vibrant personality.
I was able to knit it up pretty quickly. Once you get through the lace section of 26 rows, it’s just smooth sailing short rows in stockinette.
My mom, sisters and I met up with our friend and her daughter last weekend. It was a wonderful visit, lots of laughter as always when we are with her.

I wish her, her daughter and her husband to be a wonderful wedding in Hawaii and a marvelous life together!!

I hope everyone has a good week, see you all next week…

I plan to share with ~ In the Studio-Sneek Peek FridayCreative FridayFiber Arts FridayFibers on Friday,  F O FridayFriday Fiber Arts

19 thoughts on “wedding shawl

  1. ooooh, that shawl is GORGEOUS and I love the color you picked. Her dress is beautiful too. Although I had a tradiional gown years ago, I love the colorful brides we are seeing more of. A day of celebration should be full of color…and handknits. Great job.

  2. This post makes me want to give you a hug—it just makes me really happy to see you sharing in and contributing to your friend’s happiness like this, especially with something as impeccably beautiful as this shawl—the colour! The beautiful lace pattern! Those beads. You are a wonderful knitter and a great friend.

  3. Oh it is beautiful!! It is going to look so pretty with her gorgeous dress! Such a wonderful and thoughtful gift. Congratulations to the bride and groom! 🙂

  4. WOW! It’s absolutely beautiful. I just called Kiddo in here to check it out too. He totally approves. What a nice, thoughtful gift.

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

