3KCBWDAY3 – My Knitting Heroines

3KCBWDAY3 – Your Knitting Or Crochet Hero ~ Blog about someone in the fibre crafts who truly inspires you.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There were a few different names that came to mind, when I thought of this prompt

The first one is my mom ~ Leslie.  She is the one who first taught me to love working with my hands, mainly by example. As a child I did many different fiber crafts ~  embroidery samplers,  a latch hook pillow or two, many macrame hanging plant holders, granny squares by the dozen, and many sewing projects. I tried to learn to knit, but that one just didn’t click with me until many years later.

My mom always has a project or two or three or…. in the works and I have followed that example also. She does beautiful work, her quilts are gorgeous and her baby surprise sweaters are darling. She still challenges herself to learn and try new things.  She is an inspiration to me.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The second one that came to mind is ~ Stephanie Pearl-McPhee. The speed of her knitting, spinning and wit amaze me. I had the opportunity to meet her and take a sock class from her with my mother and sister. It was informative but also very entertaining. I enjoy her books and follow her adventures as she portrays them on her blog. I dream of going to one of her knitting retreats some day.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And there are many designers that I really admire ~ Norah Gaughan, Stephen West, Jared Flood, Asa Tricosa, Susanna IC and many more…

3 thoughts on “3KCBWDAY3 – My Knitting Heroines

  1. Pingback: 3KCBWDAY4 In Which an Innocent Blog Post about Seasonal Knitting Goes Places I Didn’t Expect « All She Wants To Do Is…

  2. Pingback: 3KCBWDAY6 I Got Nittin Skillz « All She Wants To Do Is…

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

