little pockets

I’m joining up with Ginny on her “yarn along“. I love to knit and love to read – but since I haven’t figured out how to do both at the same time – I also love Audible. I’m still listening to Riptide by Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child.

I read these two posts (ginny & lori) last week as I was browsing Yarn Along posts. And I learned about Lori’s trip to Africa and how she was making little pockets to give to children in the villages she would visit. I decided I could make a few, let me tell you ~ they are addictive. You can’t make just one….

I ended up making 22 of them and I want to make some more for the little kids (2-3 year olds) in my Bible story class. They are fun and quick to make. I used small amounts of cotton, acrylic and nylon yarns, I wanted them all to be kid-friendly and washable.

Two of my nephews helped me pick out little cars, balls and some little turtles to send in them. I mailed them off to Lori today with prayers for the little ones who will receive them. Best wishes on your trip ~ Lori…

So what are you knitting / crocheting / spinning / reading / listening to?

Check out some others at the ~  Yarn Along & WIP Wednesday with tami’s amis

11 thoughts on “little pockets

  1. I love knitting and reading too and my answer to that combination is also audio books – it’s funny how I associate some of my sweaters with a certain book I’ve listened to while knitting it 🙂

  2. oh wow! how beautiful! so many pockets. thank you very much, your gifts will be so appreciated and loved. thank you thank you.
    xxxxxxxxxxxx lori

  3. Wow! What a wonderful rainbow of pretty pockets. They surely will be much appreciated. I’m so happy that Lori has these sweet gifts to offer on her trip. Blessings to all, Tammy

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

