the spinning continues…

The spinning wheel keeps spinning and spinning

Last summer I played with dying some left over fiber ~

Here’s a small amount of wool that I dyed green and blue (obviously) and spun up, ending up with about 45 yds of a worsted weight. I wanted to practice spinning a thicker yarn as I normally spin thinner. And I’m pretty happy with how it turned out…

This was probably about 3 oz of merino that I dyed with burgundy and blue/greens, but I left some bare. I really like how it turned out. I ended up with about 300 yds of a fingering weight (15 wpi) yarn. It sure is hard to get the colors to turn out right. This yarn actually is a little deeper and more red tones, but the blue/greens caught the light more.

This last one is 80% merino 20% silk fiber that I purchased, probably 2 years ago. I spun all the fiber onto one bobbin and then Navajo plied it into a 3 ply. The factory called this colorway “woodland” which fits it, but when I look at it I’ve been calling it “seafoam bubbles”.

I hope everyone has a good week, see you all next week…

I plan to share with ~ In the Studio-Sneek Peek FridayCreative FridayFiber Arts FridayFibers on Friday,  F O Friday

8 thoughts on “the spinning continues…

  1. I agree that Seafoam Bubbles is a better name for that yarn. You do great spinning work! It will be fun to see what you decide to knit out of these yarns.

  2. I love that last yarn. The color is so pretty and the name you chose is perfect. Thank you for sharing and giving me a little nudge to go get some spinning done.

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

