cottage garden revisited

This week I’ve been on a spinning kick. I finished up the Cottage Garden fiber

(4oz rope of frabjous fiber ~ merino sparkle blend)

It was  split it in half length-wise, and then I divided each half into about 7 sections length-wise.

And began spinning… this fiber is a joy to spin, it’s very soft, has a long staple length and flows smoothly through your fingers.

I spun the fiber on my Mach 2 Spinolution wheel, it took about 6 hours to spin the two bobbins of singles.

And then I plied them together into this lovely barber-pole 2 ply, it took about 1.5 hrs.

Then I wound it off the bobbin on to my kniddy-knoddy.

Buddy likes to keep an eye on what I am doing, most of the time he wants to be on my lap.

I tied off the skein and then gave it a real hot bath, squeezed the water out and hung it to dry.

My trailer smells like wet wool, incentive to keep the windows open.

I ended up with approximately 435 yards of fingering weight 2 ply soft shiny yarn.

It does look like a ~ cottage garden.

I hope everyone has a good week, see you all next week…

I plan to share with ~ In the Studio-Sneek Peek FridayCreative FridayFiber Arts FridayFibers on Friday,  F O Friday

25 thoughts on “cottage garden revisited

  1. This almost makes me want to spin my own yarn. I.m beginning to understand my limits. I love the way this one came together. I love you, too.

  2. OOOHhhh! This would be a beautiful shawl. Ive been knitting them this year. makes my yarn budget stretch a little further. Your cottage garden makes my fingers feel all “knitchy”. Thanks for linking up and sharing “whats in your studio”

  3. Hmm… I think it ‘ate’ my first comment! I thought this was so neat to watch how it changes like that. It looks so soft and yummy to work with and the colors together are so pretty!! 🙂

  4. Wow! So cool that you spun it and everything. Love all the colors! What are you planning on making with it??

    PS: It wouldn’t let me comment using my blog URL for some reason so I had to use my Twitter URL. It kept giving me an error message.

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

