5-way cabled shrug

It seems like all I show you are works-in-progress, but I do occasionally finish things, it just seems to take forever to block and photograph. This week’ s WIP is the 5-Way Cabled Shrug by Lily Chin.

The yarn I’m using is Manos silk blend (merino/silk). It is a kettle dyed dark chocolate brown, it has lovely variations in color. I’m having a hard time getting the color to come out correctly in the photograph (it’s actually closer in color to the border on the photo). Again I bought it at my favorite local yarn shop, Babetta’s.

I’ve done cables before but this is the first one that has so many going on at one time, it’s challenging to keep it all straight. I’m using my favorite needles – Knit Picks Options Harmony Wood Circulars. They are beautiful, warm, smooth (without being slippery) and they have lovely points.

Thanks for all the love last week on my shawl storage, it’s fun to be able to have them all out in view.

I hope everyone has a good week, see you all next week…

I plan to share with ~ In the Studio-Sneek Peek Friday, Creative Friday, Fiber Arts Friday, Fibers on Friday,  F O Friday

20 thoughts on “5-way cabled shrug

  1. Cables are so much fun. Your shrug is beautiful, and the color looks really rich. I understand the camera being finicky though, that can be so frustrating!

  2. Cable knitting looks so complicated…I know I always say I want to learn more, and I do want to learn how to do socks. This looks like it will be so gorgeous! And I know this silk blend will feel luscious next to the skin…

  3. Hey! Babetta’s is on my list of shops to visit, since it’s about halfway between my house and my best friends. I’m glad to hear you’re a fan ^_^
    I love that cable, too. It looks fairly complex, but fun.

  4. Your shrug looks like it will be very warm and cozy to wear. Great for the my neck of the woods near Lake Tahoe where we have had over 2 feet of snow in the last few days! Would love to see a picture of this when it’s done.

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

