spinning ~ cottage garden

I’m joining up with Ginny on her “yarn along“. I love to knit and love to read – but since I haven’t figured out how to do both at the same time – I also love Audible.

I’m still knitting on a few different shawls and I finished up the knitted bibs that I had an order for. But last night I felt like spinning which I haven’t done much of since last spring.

Anyway, I pulled out a 4oz rope of frabjous fiber ~ merino sparkle blend ~ in Cottage Garden colorway, that I picked up awhile back at Babetta’s, my local fiber enabler.

I split it in half length-wise, and then divided each half into about 7 sections length-wise also. And began spinning… this fiber is a joy to spin, it’s very soft, has a long staple length and flows smoothly through your fingers. I spun up about 1/4 of it last night in about 1 – 1 1/2 hours.

As far as what I am reading, well I’m listening to the final book in the Hunger Game Trilogy ~ Mockingjay on Audible. It actually took me a while to get through the second one, it didn’t hold my interest as well as the first.

And I’m reading ~ The Bridge Across Forever, another favorite by Richard Bach, it’s good to reread these old favorites. Here’s a couple quotes from this book ~

“The opposite of loneliness, it’s not togetherness. It is intimacy.” 

“There are no mistakes. The events we bring upon ourselves, no matter how unpleasant, are necessary in order to learn what we need to learn; whatever steps we take, they’re necessary to reach the places we’ve chosen to go.” 

“The only thing that shatters dreams is compromise.” 

“The best way to pay for a lovely moment is to enjoy it.”

“That’s what learning is, after all; not whether we lose the game, but how we lose and how we’ve changed because of it and what we take away from it that we never had before, to apply to other games. Losing, in a curious way, is winning.”

So what are you knitting / crocheting / spinning / reading / listening to?

Check out some others at the ~

Join us!

6 thoughts on “spinning ~ cottage garden

  1. What utterly lovely yarn you are spinning!! one of my wishes is to learn to spin and own a beautiful wheel to do it on. One day. I love the quotes you put up from the book you are reading. I am a quote glutton ( I like to put them in my art journal and sketchbooks) Thanks for the fodder 😉
    Peace~
    Dawn

  2. Oh what pretty roving! I picked up a beautiful purple and pink roving during the holiday markets and I can’t wait to spin it up. It’s on my to do list and I hope to get to it soon 🙂 Enjoy the mockingjay. I just finished reading it and really enjoyed it 🙂

  3. those are lovely quotes, thank you for sharing. and your wool is so pretty. i hope to learn to spin one day. i think it’s something i’d really enjoy doing.

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

