i started another one

I really didn’t need to start another project, much less another shawl – but that seems to be the only thing I want to knit right now.

Because really ~ I’m still working on this one and this one, plus a few others I haven’t even talked about.

It started out by my LYS posting on FB that they got a new yarn in stock, and that the yarn was wool, cashmere and silk. I had to go check it out, and it was scrumptiously marvelous. It is Breathless by Shalimar in the Primula color and I came home with a squeezably soft skein.

First I looked through patterns I had printed out and considered a few, one in particular Medusa, I like the strong almost rick-rack look of the lace portion. Then I looked through my Ravelry favorites and decided on Zenaura, I liked the idea of doing a sideways shawl, and liked the lace and stockinette alternating panels.

I cast-on and began knitting, it took a little figuring out at first, because you are knitting the lace border on one side and a four-stitch edging on the other side as you go along. I did the first stockinette section and numbers were matching, then did the first lace section, and numbers were not matching. So I frogged back to the beginning of the lace section, and this time followed the directions closer and so far it’s working. I’m halfway through the second stockinette section. I’m loving the color and I think it’s going to block open beautifully. I think I’m going to have to borrow a set of blocking wires for this one, because you really have to block out all the little picots.

As far as what I am reading this week, I was reminded of an old favorite, and pulled it out to read again, Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach. I really like this book, I’ve never seen the movie but love the soundtrack. One of my favorite songs in it is this one:  Be by Neil Diamond.

Here’s a picture of it all together ~

So what are you knitting / crocheting and reading?

Check out some of the others at ~

12 thoughts on “i started another one

  1. Pingback: Knitting Fever | Anastasia E White

  2. Sis. Mary,

    That is the MOST AMAZING BOOK EVER. I started reading it around 12:30 on Sunday night and stayed up until it was finished. I feel like Jonathan is me, haha, and so it connected. It’s on my favourite list too, now. Is the one you gave me actually for keeps? I thought you were lending it, until I saw your note inside, so I was kind of confused.

    Thank you for that, I really really loved it.

  3. Pingback: West Coast Wardrobe Crocheted Lace Knit Duster | Ladies Shop

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

