family

The family.  We were a strange little band of characters trudging through life sharing diseases and toothpaste, coveting one another’s desserts, hiding shampoo, borrowing money, locking each other out of our rooms, inflicting pain and kissing to heal it in the same instant, loving, laughing, defending, and trying to figure out the common thread that bound us all together.  ~Erma Bombeck

This is my family – my parents (who have been married for 45 years this June), myself and my four siblings, my 3 nieces and 6 nephews.

We’ve been through a lot as most families do ~

  • there’s been heartache and separation, but also healing and forgiveness
  • 5 of us have dealt with cancer, but we were there for each other
  • there was the time a nurse said, “this one isn’t gonna make it” ~ but I did
  • and then the next year, my Mom was very ill ~ but God directed and brought healing
  • there was the time my Mom lifted a very large metal rack off my little brother’s feet (can we say adrenaline)
  • there were times out of work or with little work ~ but we made it
  • we all worked in our family business ~ and had to deal with it closing down, but again we did it together
  • we get together monthly for “family night” ~ where we celebrate any birthdays or anniversaries and catch up on what is happening in each other’s life
  • I’m thankful for my family ~ they have been the biggest blessing in my life…

sharing with This or That Thursday, Share the Joy Thursday

One thought on “family

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

