the gloves & moiraine are finished

I’m joining up with Ginny on her “yarn along“. I love to knit and love to read – but since I haven’t figured out how to do both at the same time – I also love Audible.

The saga of the finger-less gloves for my Dad continues ~ I added the 1.5″ to the first one and started right away on the 2nd. I had made notes of how I had made the 1st ~ how many rows here and where a changed for the thumb, etc. I got the 2nd one done all the way to where the thumb is split off, and realized that I had made a matching glove, not the other half of a pair. So the 2nd one got ripped back out to the cuff. I did finally finish them and get all the ends wove in on Saturday. I gave them to my Dad on Sunday and got him to model them for me. (I still could have made them a little longer, Oh well)

I also finished up the Moiraine scarf and took a picture of it finished, I added a little tassel of beads to the small end.

I started listening to Julie by Catherine Marshall. I read this book a long time ago, but wanted to listen to it. I recently listened to Christy by Catherine Marshall and really enjoyed it.

Julie | [Catherine Marshall]    Christy | [Catherine Marshall]

So what are you knitting/reading/listening to?

Also sharing with Fibers on Friday & Fiber Arts Friday

16 thoughts on “the gloves & moiraine are finished

  1. Your mitts look great and your scarf is so pretty and lacy! I really love Audible too, as I spend so much time knitting, I don’t have much time left over for reading. I love being able to listen to book while I’m knitting! And I’m a big fan of Catherine Marshall too — her books have been sources of comfort during some difficult times in my life (many years ago). I just saw “A Man Called Peter” on TCM (a few weeks ago), and he was so inspiring as well.
    Blessings,
    G

    • Yes I love audible, I was a voracious reader growing up. And then along came books-on-tape, then on cds, and now audible. It’s so nice to be able to listen to a story as I work or knit. thanks for visiting, come again anytime…

  2. Great to see people still doing crafty things like that! With our busy lives and all the readily accessible passive entertainment that is out there, most people have turned into couch potatoes, glued to a TV.

  3. Oh that scarf is just beautiful. I love the colors you chose. Sorry to hear about the saga of the mitts. They look really good despite of it all! 🙂

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

