little bird nests

I’m joining up again with In the Studio – Sneak Peek FridayCreative FridayMade by you Monday, Masterpiece Monday

I saw this idea on somebody’s blog (I just remembered where) and thought I would try it – I love little birds. So what better than little bird nests.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I got 22ga bronze colored wire and some small blue/grey/white beads from Michaels.

I first tried hand forming the coils, but it didn’t turn out as even as I wanted. So I tried different pens I had on my desk, until I found the diameter I liked.

Then I added 3 beads and crimped down the coil, doing a little triple wrap on 3 sides.

I made 5 little nests, aren’t they cute…

Then I attached then to a barrette clip which I first covered with bronzy-green ribbon – and I love how it turned out! (I always forget how messy hot glue is until I use it again)

I also did a larger, hand formed nest that I will attach to a pin backing.

These have been fun to create, I may make a few more as gifts.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for stopping by my “studio”!

StudioJRUCreative Friday Button

26 thoughts on “little bird nests

  1. I love these! I have made a couple and used them in mixed media pieces in the past, and have some more ideas (other than jewelry) coming to mind as of late…I notice you are a spinner! My tweener has been learning that vintage craft…I definitely am going to take the time to take a closer look at your place! Blessings on ALL the work of your hands!!!

    • I hope your youngster enjoys the spinning, I know I do (I have to admit, I haven’t been doing much lately, I need to dust off my wheel) thanks for visiting & come again again any time…

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

