5 minute friday ~ Tender

On Fridays around these parts we stop, drop, and write. 
For fun, for love of the sound of words, for play, for delight,
For joy and celebration at the art of communication.
For only five short, bold, beautiful minutes. Unscripted and unedited.
We just write without worrying if it’s just right or not.

Today’s word ~ TENDER

start:

When I think of the word tender, the picture that comes to mind, is my Grandma take care of my Grandpa as he deteriorated due to Alzheimer’s. He was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s about 10 years before he passed away. I can remember many times when she would tenderly remind him, that she was his wife and that she loved him. She took care of him until she just physically couldn’t any longer. Even after he was moved into a care facility, she was there visiting and caring for him almost daily. The song “Through the Years” as sung by Kenny Rogers was their song and even though the word “tender” isn’t in the lyrics – this song describes a tender, lasting love.

THROUGH THE YEARS

My Grandpa & Grandma #1

I can’t remember when you weren’t there
When I didn’t care for anyone but you
I swear we’ve been through everything there is
Can’t imagine anything we’ve missed
Can’t imagine anything the two of us can’t do

Through the years, you’ve never let me down
You turned my life around, the sweetest days I’ve found
I’ve found with you … Through the years
I’ve never been afraid, I’ve loved the life we’ve made
And I’m so glad I’ve stayed, right here with you
Through the years

I can’t remember what I used to do
Who I trusted, who I listened to before
I swear you taught me everything I know
Can’t imagine needing someone so
But through the years it seems to me
I need you more and more

Through the years, through all the good and bad
I knew how much we had, I’ve always been so glad
To be with you … Through the years
It’s better every day, you’ve kissed my tears away
As long as it’s okay, I’ll stay with you
Through the years

Through the years, when everything went wrong
Together we were strong, I know that I belong
Right here with you … Through the years
I never had a doubt, we’d always work things out
I’ve learned what love’s about, by loving you
Through the years

Through the years, you’ve never let me down
You’ve turned my life around, the sweetest days I’ve found
I’ve found with you … Through the years
It’s better every day, you’ve kissed my tears away
As long as it’s okay, I’ll stay with you
Through the years!

stop:

8 thoughts on “5 minute friday ~ Tender

  1. first, what you do with flowers is art – second what you do with wire is art – heart those! Third – this remembrance of your grandma – tenderness – how many times she must’ve been with you. I’ve never had anyone like that. My mom tried – but there was too much to overcome with the man she was married to. But I’m really glad that you did – it obviously helped make you who you are. God bless and keep you – thank you Mary (which, by the way, was my mom’s name) 🙂

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

