dad’s finger-less gloves

I’m joining up with Ginny on her “yarn along“. I love to knit and love to read – but since I haven’t figured out how to do both at the same time – I also love Audible.

So my Mom emailed me last week and said – if you need a project to do – your Dad could use a pair of finger-less gloves. His hands get cold in the morning while he’s on the computer. So I talked with him about them, traced his hand and got some measurements.

I told Mom I would use washable yarn, so I picked up some Vanna’s Choice – Acrylic/Rayon in a medium brown tweed. I normally don’t use acrylic (I have to admit, I am a yarn snob), but so far this yarn isn’t bad to work with.

So I started out with 2×2 rib for the cuff and back of the hand, the palm in stockinette and the thumb gusset in purl. I got as far as where the thumb would be worked separately and realized the thumb gusset was too big and the cuff was longer than he wanted.

first try before ripping...

SO rrrrriiiiiiipppppppp….   and I started over.

This time around I decided to do a 1×1 rib instead, the rest the same. So now I’ve gotten 1 completed, and I plan to have my Dad try it on before I start the 2nd one.

 (edited to add – he tried it on tonight and I need to add about 1.5″ to the finger section)

I’m still reading Simple Abundance, A Daybook of Comfort and Joy by Sarah Ban Breathnach and still listening to  Catching Fire of the Hunger Games trilogy.

I’ve been more into listening to music this week and haven’t spent much time reading.

So what are you knitting/reading/listening to?

Also sharing with Fibers on Friday & Fiber Arts Friday

16 thoughts on “dad’s finger-less gloves

    • I first learned to crochet as a child and I tried to learn to knit then but it didn’t click. About 10 years ago, I thought I would try again, so I bought a child’s learn to knit book and this time it made sense – and now I knit every day. Try it and thanks for visiting…

    • and the frogging didn’t just stick with the first one – I had the 2nd complete as far as splitting off the thumb, like the first. and realized I was making a 2nd right hand glove – so rip rip rip. Oh well, they are almost done… thanks for stopping by…

  1. The mitts are looking very nice. I’ve heard several people mention that they’ve used Vanna’s Choice yarn with a good result. Looking forward to seeing the finished project. I too love Audible. I am currently listening to Stephen King’s 11-22-63 and The Boy in the Suitcase.

    • I’m glad you’ve heard the Vanna’s Choice yarn is good, this is the first time I’ve worked with it. I will have to check out those two books on Audible. Thanks for visiting and have a great weekend…

  2. I’m a yarn snob, too, but have thought the Vanna’s Choice seems nice for synthetic. I’ve been listening to Beach Music (by Pat Conroy)on Audible. It’s really long and soooo satisfying, I’ll be sad when it’s over.

  3. I’ve tried to learn how to knit a couple of times, but I could only knit squares (if you can call them that) – nothing useful…I really with I could knit something useful 😦

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

