changes, a new home and a new puppy

Change – not a very big word, but can bring with it upheaval, uncertainty and unease.  There’s been alot of that over the last 6 months or so.

Our family business, that I had been helping run for the last 10 years, closed it’s doors in March. So the “security” of a job, income and even housing was gone. So I began to send out resumes, probably about 50-60 of them over a three week period. I was called back by 4-5 different companies, interviewed by 2 – and started my new job on April 1st.

I am now working for Enterprize Glass Company in Rancho Cordova. It is a small glass company that mainly works for property management companies, replacing windows and screens in apartments or rental properties. There is the owner, Rick and one other glass technician.

I handle anything and everything in the office – and have even cut some glass for orders. It has been interesting, prior to my coming – all their bookkeeping was done manually with ledger cards and a check register. When I interviewed with the owner, I told him that I was very interested in switching things to computer (Quickbooks). Well, I am doing that – I just about have all of 2010’s info in the system. But due to some circumstances, I’m having to enter information for 2007, 2008 and 2009 – so it has been challenging pulling it all together. The income isn’t near to what I was making – but then neither is the responsibility or the stress. I think at this time, it’s a good trade-off.

My new home – is a 21′ travel trailer.

It is my parent’s trailer, but they have kindly offered to let me use it for awhile.

In this picture, where the bookcase is between the vertical cabinets was originally the head of a queen-size bed. There was a frame that came out into the room, and there was barely room to walk on each side of the bed. We took out part of the bed frame (it is in storage, so my parents can put it all back together later and use it), and I put in the bookcases. I almost had to grease them, to get them to fit. I made a cushion to have seating along in front of the bookcases. I found the rocking chair on Craigslist. And my Uncle Pat made the small table narrower for me, which will be used for multiple purposes: eating, sewing, computer, etc.

This picture shows the area that used to be a dinette booth. Now it’s my bed. The length was 3″ too short for a standard twin mattress, so I bought a memory foam style mattress that I could cut down. It’s comfortable but it’s a good thing I’m short.

I’ve basically moved into it, but still use the house kitchen and the house restroom for showering. In another month or so, I will probably move it to a small trailer/RV park near my work. I am looking forward to having my own little space and only a 2.5 mile commute. I plan to ride my bike in good weather.

So – a new puppy

I have been thinking about, researching and planning to get a new puppy for awhile (about a year or so). I had decided on a Havanese. They are small (which is a good thing since my new house is so small). They don’t shed much and are hypoallergenic (don’t cause allergy problems), which is another good thing as I some times have allergy problems. From what I’ve read they seem to be a good companion dog. I’ve looked at many websites for different breeders and lately had found one that I kept being drawn back to. I ended up calling the breeder, Linda earlier this week to ask a few questions. You can probably guess the end of the story – my new puppy is coming home next Friday.

This first picture is from when he was 5 days old. He kind of looks like a little hamster or something…

This second one is at 5 weeks, he’s starting to look like a puppy…

And this last one as at 9 weeks, just over a week ago. He’s a cutie.

I talked with my boss and he is ok with me bringing him to work, today he said he was looking forward to me bringing him in.

I’m still trying to decide on a name. If you’ve seen my facebook posting – I’ve had some help in that direction, my cousin Dave’s suggestions were to call him “Stupid” or “Ethel”. My older brother suggested “Stay” – as in “come here, Stay – come here, Stay”. The Crain boys are always to be counted on to be helpful. At the moment I am considering – Ripley, Bailey, and Riley – I like names that end in “e” sound.

So back to changes…

With all the changes and upheaval in my life over the last few months, I have been so thankful for one thing that has never changed, I’m thankful that my anchor in life’s storms in Jesus. I’m also thankful for my family, how we can stand together in tough and trying times.

***************************************************

God is our refuge and strength,
a very present help in trouble.
Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed,
and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea;
Though the waters thereof roar and be troubled,
though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof. Selah.
There is a river, the streams whereof shall make glad the city of God,
the holy place of the tabernacles of the most High.
God is in the midst of her; she shall not be moved:
God shall help her, and that right early.
The heathen raged, the kingdoms were moved:
he uttered his voice, the earth melted.
The LORD of hosts is with us;
the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.
Come, behold the works of the LORD,
what desolations he hath made in the earth.
He maketh wars to cease unto the end of the earth;
he breaketh the bow, and cutteth the spear in sunder;
he burneth the chariot in the fire.
Be still, and know that I am God:
I will be exalted among the heathen,
I will be exalted in the earth.
The LORD of hosts is with us;
the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.
Psa 46:1-11
One thought on “changes, a new home and a new puppy

  1. You have also been our rock, I don’t know how we could have gotten through the last few months without your commitment to seeing a bad situation to the very end, Thank you, We love you Mom – Dad

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

