using blocking wires

I’m joining up with Ginny on her “yarn along“. I love to knit and love to read – but since I haven’t figured out how to do both at the same time – I also love Audible.  I think I’m relistening to the “Wheel of Time” series.

I received a set of  “blocking wires”, these are actually 308L 1/16″ welding rods.  And my brother, Aaron owns a welding company, Eagle Welding Service, Inc, and he gave me a tube of these (there are about 20 in the tube).

2013-05-01_11-45-22_421

This shawl was knit by my Mother, and I do a lot of her blocking.  This was the first time I’ve used them.

2013-05-01_11-49-01_559

It was a bit fiddly to work with these, but I’m liking how it’s turning out.

2013-05-01_11-48-50_189

2013-05-01_11-48-42_280

Over all it took about 1/2 hour to block this shawl out using the blocking wires which is pretty close to the time it would take just using pins.

2013-05-01_11-49-59_273

Mom, I hope you like how this one turns out!

Have a great week ~ So what are you knitting / crocheting / spinning / reading / listening to?

Check out some others at the ~  Yarn Along & WIP Wednesday with tami’s amis

3 thoughts on “using blocking wires

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...

